Event box

Python Workshop

Online

This is a 2-week asynchronous course held in Canvas from April 4th at 12 am through April 17th at 12 am, access to the workshop goes to the end of the quarter. Python is an interpreted high-level general-purpose programming language. Python's design philosophy emphasizes code readability with its notable use of significant indentation. This workshop includes two Carpentry-based workshops. You can choose to complete one or both, it is up to you!

  • Programming with Python: This lesson is written as an introduction to Python, but its real purpose is to introduce the single most important idea in programming: how to solve problems by building functions, each of which can fit in a programmer’s working memory.
  • Plotting and Programming in Python: This lesson is an introduction to programming in Python for people with little or no previous programming experience. It uses plotting as its motivating example. 

The amount of participation time for Programming with Python is approximately 7 hours and Plotting and Programming in Python is approximately 6.2 hours.

For more information, please contact Computational Research Librarian Danielle Kane at kaned@uci.edu. Registered participants will receive invites to the Canvas workshop before the April 4th start date.

Related LibGuide: Software for Data Analysis by Danielle Kane

Dates & Times:
All Day, Monday, April 4, 2022
All Day, Tuesday, April 5, 2022
All Day, Wednesday, April 6, 2022
All Day, Thursday, April 7, 2022
All Day, Friday, April 8, 2022
All Day, Saturday, April 9, 2022
All Day, Sunday, April 10, 2022
All Day, Monday, April 11, 2022
All Day, Tuesday, April 12, 2022
All Day, Wednesday, April 13, 2022
All Day, Thursday, April 14, 2022
All Day, Friday, April 15, 2022
All Day, Saturday, April 16, 2022
All Day, Sunday, April 17, 2022
Location:
Online
Audience:
  Faculty     Graduate Students     Staff     Undergraduate Students  
Categories:
  DSS Event     Workshops  
Online:
This is an online event. Event URL will be sent via registration email.
Registration has closed. (This event has to be booked as part of a series)